and operates a vaccine distemper assistance plan to control disease. (9) Schools of agriculture and home economics are operated at Olds, Vermilion and Fairview. Practical two-year courses in agriculture and home economics are offered to young men who intend to farm and to young women who plan to become homemakers. During the summer the schools are used for short courses and gatherings of farm people. A comprehensive 4-H Club program, designed to train boys and girls in the essentials of citizenship and practical agriculture and homemaking, is conducted; in 1952, the program embraced 13 projects. (10) A Radio and Information Branch, established on Apr. 1, 1953, provides a radio program consisting of five broadcasts a week over six Alberta stations.

British Columbia.-The Department of Agriculture has four main divisions. (1) The Administrative Division is responsible for the general direction of agricultural policies, administration of legislation affecting agriculture, supervision of extension programs, collection of agricultural statistics, compilation of reports and publications, preparation of material for agricultural exhibitions, supervision of farmers' and women's institutes, as well as the carrying out of soil surveys in various sections of the Province. (2) The Animal Industry Division consists of general live-stock, veterinary, dairy and poultry branches and supervises the promotion and improvement of animal production, fur farms, brand inspection, inspection of beef grading, control of contagious diseases of animals, eradication of insect pests detrimental to live stock, and field extension connected with animal nutritional work. (3) The Plant Industry Division includes horticulture, field-crop, plant pathology, entomology and apiculture branches and supervises fruit, vegetable and seed production and surveys dealing with orchards, small fruits, flowering bulbs and greenhouse areas; also the suppression of insect pests, plant disease inspection with control of noxious weeds and general promotion of crop production. In addition there are field officials in 12 of the principal fruit and vegetable producing areas who undertake extension work on behalf of field crop, fruit and vegetable producers. (4) The Agricultural Development and Extension Division includes field-extension work through the district agriculturist service, clearing agricultural lands for production, agricultural engineering, farm labour supply, and junior club projects. Extension Division officials of the Department are located in 32 agricultural centres throughout the Province.

Subsection 2.—Agricultural Colleges and Schools

All provinces, with the exception of Newfoundland, provide facilities for training in agricultural science at university level. Such colleges are administered by either the Department of Agriculture or the Department of Education of the respective provinces.

Prince Edward Island.—The two-year course in scientific agriculture offered at Prince of Wales College is designed for students preparing to enter third year at Macdonald College, Que. The course is started every second year.

In the Vocational School, the one-year course offered in agriculture is planned to provide not only knowledge and skill but to develop in the student a sense of the dignity and importance of agriculture as a calling and an understanding of the importance of the industry to the Province.